The Road Goes Ever On

It’s a tough life they say, and I might be a wee-bit inclined to agree. I just bid farewell to my family members to leave for good to Oklahoma and am sitting in DIA (Denver International Airport) just chilling. While that may not sound exciting in and of itself, it is both equally thrilling and heartbreaking for me because of my family members I get to see in OK. You might say, “But you’re 21, most guys have to leave at 18!” Which is very true for most circumstances, but the last 3 years I’ve spent at home rather than away is the reason it is so difficult. Let me explain.

For the last 3 years especially, I have grown closer to my younger siblings immensely. The best image I can give you is from my favorite scene in Disney’s The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. Near the end there is a scene where the 4 Pevensie siblings are slowly turning back into their child age, and along the way they are walking alongside each other yelling and getting frustrated with each other because they are bumping into each other, but they are still thick as thieves. For me, my 3 younger siblings and I have come to embark on each other’s interests and activities that make life so much fun for us. We love late night (coffee filled) card games while hogging the Spotify in order to control each other’s music interests. We love quirky marathons filled with Doctor Who episodes, as well as Alfred Hitchcock and Wes Anderson films. We have even taken a go at hiking, which is only slightly successful. We essentially love the adventure of life, and we prefer it together at this point. The same goes for my 2 annoyingly awesome little brothers as well. And don’t get me started on my parents. They are such huge inspirations and encouragers to me in my life. There is that perpetual feeling of comfort, wisdom, and love that is impossible not to feel when I am around them. But it is not just the people. I mean, Denver is quite the place, right? Colorado has been my home for a good 15 years of my life. And I may be partial, but I have come to the opinion that Denver is the greatest city in Mother America. That is thanks to beautiful scenery, the amazing friends and church family here, and the hipster feeling you get when you listen to 93.3.

I suppose I am rambling on now. In my scattered mind I am trying my best to figure out a rhyme or reason for this post and my thoughts. The best thing I can think of right now are the words of Solomon. In them we see this in Ecclesiastes 12:13, “The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.” Why these words specifically? Because Solomon knew that the great joy and comfort of life is worthless without God. All the new and exciting adventures in my life will likewise be for naught if God is not center. Even though I will get to, Lord willing, spend countless hours with my many brothers and sisters throughout the years in different forms. I won’t be able to live the intricate details that I have come to enjoy from living home. But what will matter is that if we all stay true to God and His commands, as well as you the undoubtedly bored reader, this life and the next will be so much more rewarding than yours or my short sighted mind can comprehend.

I appreciate you enduring my overly corny and sentimental babbling; I suppose it is just on my heart right now. Life moves on, there is no stopping that. There are times we will reminisce about what we have left behind, and times to be eager for the future. But if God and his Word is not the core of those plans, we might as well feel despair. I know that if I keep God as #1 in my life, than He will have a bright future for me in one way or another. And though I might be a bit misty eyed, I look to it will joy and excitement! But for now; thanks Denver! It has been a great run!

P.S. go to Spotify and listen to Young The Giant’s “Crystallized.” It is a new fave of mine, and it will be one of yours as well.

Leave a Reply

