A Wretched Level

This is not a political post.

Let me start by saying that as far as my personal and political stances are considered, Sen. Marco Rubio has been a longtime favorite of mine. I am a strong supporter of his ideals, his statement on Christianity was one of my favorite political stances I heard last year, my Facebook politician survey would say I agree with him “93%” of the time (take that for what it’s worth), I got to hear him at a rally when I was 18 years old (last election), and I even got to introduce myself to him. Like I said though, this is not a political post stuffing my opinions down your throat. The reason for me listing these views of mine was to demonstrate to you how difficult and frustrating his recent comments were for me personally…

Recently my brother-in-law and I were talking a bit about the election, and how devastating and messed up it seems to get year after year. He brought up the fact how sad it was that even a good guy/politician like Rubio would give into such childish ridicule. I hadn’t heard much on it, so I looked up his recent words and was baffled to see that he had recently made rude remarks towards the notorious Donald Trump regarding the size of his hands (how small they were), and using this to make innuendos about other aspects of Mr. Trump. Like I said, I was pretty saddened to hear this. He tried to backtrack saying that the loud mouthed Trump just needs to have his own ways handed back to him. But we know better, don’t we Mr. Rubio?

If I were to say to you that I had never made the foolish mistake of yelling at, mocking, name calling, or even fighting someone who had either provoked me or had done something to offend me, it would be a quite the fib. And I’d also wager a pretty penny I am not alone in this admission. It is essentially part of our culture fed “animal instincts” that we feel we must not only stand up for ones self, but fight back with immense aggression. When we are so used to seeing the world, media, social networks, and people around us doing it, we feel we ought to join in on the ruckus as well.

Jesus essentially rocked the world for people who are used to sudden outbreaks of anger. He did so by stating, “But I say to you, Do not resist the one who is evil. But if anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.” (Matt. 5:38). He went further to say, “But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you” (vs. 44). You know, in all honesty, this is pretty basic stuff. We understand these verses, we have been taught them since we were young. But yet we still see adults day in and day out act like immature kids.

But what if someone is provoking you? What if someone is making you a fool? We get that Paul, Peter, and even Jesus in their words stood up for themselves and their integrity many times, pointing out the flaws of those who attempted to bring them down. But we are never, and I repeat never encouraged to succumb to their rude and atrocious levels. So when you are cut off in traffic, mocked by a rival business mogul (or even, *gasp*, a sports fan), when your spouse or siblings hits “beneath the belt”, or when you are just in a foul mood. Remember that going down to their sad, sad level is never the answer, nor should it ever be justified. Rather, remember Christ’s words found in Matthew 7:12 (yet, another verse we are trying to teach our kiddos in Bible class this quarter), “So whatever you wish that others would do to you, do also to them, for this is the Law and the Prophets.” Stand up for yourself, stand up for your views, stand up for your integrity, but never fall for the schemes of those who want to bring you down to their wretched level.

 

Leave a Reply

